Discover the plateau of Fraisse and Moudeyres

moudeyres ferme frères perrel balade plateau du fraisse

Between Velay, Meygal and Mézenc: the valley of La Laussone

At about 20 minutes away from Le Puy-en-Velay, cross the PR 590 on the plateau of Fraisse. This tour long of 11.2 km starts from Laussonne. Enclosed in the heart of the valley situated between the massifs of Mézenc and Meygal, the village is crossed by the river Laussonne. This stroll will make you climb to the heights of the village by some pleasant paths but with differences in level sometimes hard (about 200 meter of difference of level separate the village center from the summit of the plateau).

But as any effort deserves a reward, once the plateau of Fraisse reached, your eyes will be enchanted by the vicinity landscapes… In turns, you’ll discover the massif of Meygal in the North with the Testavoyre and its 1436 meters of high, the valley of L’Aubépin and then, in the South, the massif of Mézenc, the mount Alambre…

A detour by Moudeyres

If you fancy extending (a little bit) your excursion, do not hesitate to visit the village of Moudeyres with, especially, its houses thatched roofs, its ecomuseum situated in the ferme des frères Perrel (farm of the Perrel’s brothers), a must see for about 1.6 km two-way trip!

A trip back at the water’s edge

For the trip back, near Moudeyres, you’ll walk a little on the GR 430 Chemin de Saint Régis (Way of Saint-Regis), then leave it to go back down by following the river Laussone which will lead you directly to your starting point, in the center of the village.

Useful information

  • PR 590: yellow markings, Respirando tour
  • Departure from the village, 20 minutes away from Le Puy-en-Velay, by the second road D 15 (Brives-Charensac – Saint-Julien-Chapteuil) then the D 36 (Lantriac – Laussonne)
  • Length of the tour: 11.2 km
  • Difference in height: + 295 m
  • Estimated time: 3h of walk but plan more to take pictures
  • Information, topographical IGN map and description are available in the guidebook of the Massif du Mézenc et de la Loire sauvage

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr

Découvrez le plateau du Fraisse et Moudeyres

moudeyres ferme frères perrel balade plateau du fraisse

Entre Velay, Meygal et Mézenc : la vallée de la Laussonne

A environ 20 min du Puy-en-Velay parcourez le PR 590 le plateau du Fraisse. Ce circuit long de 11.2 km démarre de Laussonne. Encaissé au cœur d’une vallée située entre les massifs du Mézenc et du Meygal, le village est traversé par la rivière Laussonne. Cette balade vous fera grimper sur les hauteurs du village par des sentiers agréables mais aux dénivelés parfois corsés (environ 200 m de dénivelé sépare le bourg du sommet du plateau).

Mais comme tout effort mérite récompense, une fois le plateau du Fraisse atteint, vos yeux seront enchantés par les paysages alentours… Vous découvrirez tour à tour, le massif du Meygal au nord avec le Testavoyre et ses 1436 m d’altitude, la vallée de l’Aubépin, puis au sud, le massif du Mézenc, le mont Alambre,…

Un détour par Moudeyres

Si l’envie vous prend de rallonger (un tout petit peu) votre excursion, n’hésitez pas à visiter le village de Moudeyres avec notamment ses maisons en toit de chaume, son écomusée situé dans la ferme des frères Perrel. A voir pour environ 1.6 km aller-retour !

Un retour au bord de l’eau

Pour le retour, près de Moudeyres, vous emprunterez un tout petit peu, le GR 430 Chemin de Saint Régis puis le quitterez pour redescendre en longeant la rivière Laussonne qui vous mènera directement à votre point de départ, au centre du village.

Informations pratiques

  • PR 590 balisage jaune, circuit respirando
  • Départ du village de Laussonne à 20min du Puy-en-Velay par la D 15 (Brives-Charensac – Saint-Julien-Chapteuil) puis la D 36 (Lantriac – Laussonne)
  • Longueur du circuit : 11.2 km
  • Dénivelé positif cumulé : +295 m
  • Temps estimé : 3h de marche mais prévoir plus pour les photos :p
  • Les informations, carte IGN et descriptif de la randonnée sur le TopoGuide du Massif du Mézenc et de la Loire sauvage

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr