Start of the Via Podiensis and visit of the town

The Via Podiensis, leaving from the cathedral

cathedrale-puy-en-velay-compostelle

Cathedral of Le Puy-en-Velay

If you wish to assist the benediction Mass of the pilgrims, your pilgrimage will start from the steps of the cathedral of Le Puy-en-Velay. You will go through the historical area of the city, the Rue des Tables, Rue Raphaël, the Place du Plot and then you’ll go into Rue Saint-Jacques, on the GR 65 Way of Santiago de Compostela! Follow then the markings red and white (warning! Never leave without a map or guidebook).

The treasures of Le Puy-en-Velay

Before leaving on the GR 65 Way to Santiago de Compostela, a visit of the historical sector of Le Puy-en-Velay imposes itself. True crossroads of hiking paths, the town will charm you by its cobbled little streets, its squares, and its impressive historic buildings. We advise you to plan a day to take the time to visit the following places:

  •  The Place du Plot (and Rue Saint-Jacques), where pass each other the GR 65 Chemin de Compostelle and the GR 700 Chemin de Régordane (or Chemin de Saint Gilles). With the most ancient fountain of the city and the market bustling every Saturday mornings.
  • The Camino, where you will be able to view, in a remarkable set and a modern scenography, the stages of the GR 65 Way of Santiago de Compostela.
  • The cathedral of Le Puy-en-Velay, listed UNESCO World Heritage Site, with an imposing architecture, where you will be able to admire the Black Madonna (17th century), its cloister, listed historical monument, its gardens…
  • The General Hospital also listed UNESCO World Heritage Site, today restored as an interactive museum.
  • Perched on its rock of a height of 82 m, the Chapel Saint-Michel-d’Aiguilhe is an edifice among the most
    GR 300 chemin saint michel chapelle aiguilhe puy en velay-mini-1

    Saint Michel d’Aiguilhe

    spectacular of France and offers a remarkable view over the city.

  • The statue Notre Dame de France, erected on the Rocher Corneille, also offers a not-to-be-missed panorama. The braver will be able to go inside the statue, to its crown, with an unobstructed 360-degree view.
  • The district of the Pouzarot, one of the most ancient of the town, with remarkable charming little streets, ancient high walls, etc.Saint Michel d’Aiguilhe

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

Scroll Up

Départ de la Via Podiensis et visite de la ville

La Via Podiensis, au départ de la cathédrale

cathedrale-puy-en-velay-compostelle

Cathédrale du Puy-en-Velay

Si vous souhaitez assister à la messe de bénédiction des pèlerins, votre pèlerinage commencera des marches de la cathédrale du Puy-en-Velay. Vous traverserez le secteur historique de la ville, la rue des Tables, rue Raphaël, la place du Plot puis vous vous engagerez rue Saint Jacques sur le GR 65 chemin de Compostelle !  Suivez alors le balisage rouge et blanc (attention, ne jamais partir sans carte ou TopoGuide).

Les trésors du Puy-en-Velay

Avant de partir sur le GR 65 chemin de Compostelle, une visite du secteur historique du Puy-en-Velay s’impose. Véritable carrefour des chemins de randonnées, la ville saura vous charmer par ses petites ruelles pavées, ses places, ses imposants bâtiments historiques. Nous vous recommandons de prendre une journée pour prendre le temps de visiter les lieux suivants :

  • La Place du plot (et rue Saint Jacques), où se croisent le GR 65 chemin de Compostelle et le GR 700 chemin de Régordane (ou chemin de Saint Gilles). Avec la fontaine la plus ancienne de la ville et son marché animé tous les samedis matin.
  • Le Camino, où vous pourrez visualisez, dans un décor remarquable et une scénographie moderne, les étapes du GR 65 chemin de Saint Jacques de Compostelle.
  • La cathédrale du Puy-en-Velay inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’Humanité par l’Unesco à l’architecture imposante, où vous pourrez
    admirer la Vierge Noire (17e siècle), son cloître classé monument historique, ses jardins,…

    GR 300 chemin saint michel chapelle aiguilhe puy en velay-mini-1

    Saint Michel d’Aiguilhe

  • L’hôtel Dieu lui aussi classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Humanité par l’Unesco, aujourd’hui réhabilité en musée interactif.
  • Perchée sur son rocher d’une hauteur de 82 m, la chapelle Saint Michel-d’Aiguilhe est un édifice parmi les plus spectaculaire de France et offre une vue remarquable sur la cité.
  • La statue Notre Dame de France, dressée sur rocher Corneille, offre elle aussi un panorama à ne pas manquer. Les plus courageux pourront accéder à l’intérieur de la statue, jusqu’à sa couronne avec une vue à 360° imprenable.
  • Le quartier du Pouzarot, l’un des plus anciens de la ville avec des ruelles pittoresques remarquables, ses murailles anciennes, etc.

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr