GR 470 Sources and gorges of Allier, 100% digital

Between Haute-Loire and Lozère, a spectacular hike

The GR 470 Sources and gorges of Allier goes back up the river Allier from Brioude to its source in the Moure-de-la-Gardille in 11 stop-overs of about 20 km. Between the plains of the Haut-Allier and its inaccessible gorges, this GR will offer you some wild and unforgettable memories!

The itinerary of the GR 470 Sources and gorges of Allier

From Brioude in the plains of Limagne, the GR 470 Sources and gorges of Allier enters quite quickly in the “Haut Allier”, in Vieille-Brioude, it reaches the castle of Saint-Ilpize which guards the access of the gorges of Allier then reach the “loop” of the river where nest Lavoûte-Chilhac.

Then Chilhac, market town with a medieval appearance, built on a lava flow with monumental basalt columns.

Then comes Langeac, a break in the steep relief, before plunging back in the gorges where Chanteuges, Saint-Arcons-d’Allier and Prades protect their treasures of architecture and geology.

Sometimes, at the river side, along the gravel pits where the salmons come to spawn, sometimes along the hillsides, when the gorges become unattainable, this itinerary crosses the villages of Pont-d’Alleyras, Monistrol-d’Allier, Le Nouveau Monde then reaches Langogne and ends by the ascent of the Moure-de-la-Gardille where the river emerge.

It even continues a bit to reach the train station of La Bastide-Puylaurent, in Lozère.

To travel on the GR 470

The GR 470 Sources and gorges of Allier is the first long-distance hike to be available 100% free, under a digital format. Three possibilities to walk on this GR:

  • The digital Randofiches®, freely downloadable on our consecrated page. Each Randofiche* includes a IGN map, a detailed description of the itinerary, some information about the accommodation, the distances and times of walking as well as explanatory sheets about your walk. Once downloaded, you’ll be able to freely print them or store them on your tablet computer or smartphone.
  • The GPS tracks, freely downloadable on our consecrated page. Each stop-over owns its GPS track downloadable on .GPX format (standard format of the GPSs and modern software). Once downloaded, you’ll be able to freely forward them on you walking GPS.
  • For your smartphone, the app is freely downloadable on the usual platform GooglePlay or AppStore. The app will offer you the necessary piece of information to follow the GR 470 with your smartphone: background IGN maps, step-by-step for each stop-over, all the points of interest of the hike geotagged (accommodation, tour, services, etc.), photographs, videos and much more…

 

*Note: the term Randofiche® designates a field-based tool which allows to cross a hike in loop, including an IGN map and all the necessary information.

randomobile sources et gorges de l'allier

  randomobile sources et gorges de l'allier-3randofiches

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr

GR 470 sources et gorges de l’allier 100% numérique

Entre Haute-Loire et Lozère, une randonnée grandiose

Le GR 470 Sources et gorges de l’Allier remonte la rivière Allier, de Brioude jusqu’à sa source au Moure de la Gardille en 11 étapes de 20 km en moyenne. Entre les plaines du Haut-Allier et les gorges inaccessibles, ce GR vous offrira des souvenirs inoubliables et sauvages !

L’itinéraire du GR 470 sources et gorges de l’Allier

Depuis Brioude dans la plaine de la Limagne, le GR 470 Sources et gorges de l’Allier entre très vite dans le « Haut Allier », à Vieille-Brioude, il gagne le château de Saint-Ilpize qui garde l’accès aux gorges de l’Allier puis rejoint la « voulte » de la rivière, où se niche Lavoûte-Chilhac.

Ensuite Chilhac, bourg à l’allure médiéval, construit sur une coulée de lave aux orgues basaltiques monumentales.

Puis vient Langeac, une pause dans le relief escarpé, avant de replonger dans les gorges où Chanteuges, Saint-Arcons-d’Allier et Prades protègent leurs trésors d’architecture et de géologie.

Parfois au bord de l’eau, le long des gravières où les saumons viennent frayer, parfois sur ses coteaux, lorsque les gorges deviennent inaccessibles, cet itinéraire va traverser les villages de Pont-d’Alleyras, Monistrol-d’Allier, le Nouveau Monde puis rejoindre Langogne et terminer par l’ascension du Moure de la Gardille où nait la rivière.

Il se poursuit même encore un peu pour rejoindre la gare de La Bastide Puylaurent en Lozère.

Pour parcourir le GR 470

Le GR 470 Sources et gorges de l’Allier est le premier sentier de Grande Randonnée à être disponible 100% gratuitement sous format numérique. Trois possibilités s’offrent à vous pour randonner sur le GR :

  • Les randofiches numériques à télécharger gratuitement sur notre page dédiée. Chaque randofiche comprend une carte IGN, un descriptif détaillé de l’itinéraire, des infos sur les hébergements, les distances et temps de marche ainsi que des textes thématiques sur votre randonnée. Une fois téléchargées, vous pourrez librement les imprimer ou les stocker sur tablette ou smartphone.
  • Les traces GPS téléchargeable gratuitement sur notre page dédiée. Chaque étape possède sa trace téléchargeable au format .GPX (format standard des GPS et logiciel moderne). Une fois téléchargées, vous pourrez librement les transférer sur votre GPS de randonnée.
  • pour smartphone à télécharger gratuitement sur les plateformes habituelles GooglePlay ou AppStore. L’application vous offrira tous les éléments pour suivre le GR 470 avec votre smartphone : fonds de carte IGN, pas à pas de chaque étape, tous les points d’intérêt de la randonnée géolocalisés (hébergements, visites, services, etc.), des photos, des vidéos et bien d’autres…

randomobile sources et gorges de l'allier

  randomobile sources et gorges de l'allier-3randofiches

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr