Thunderstorms while hiking, what do you have to do?

Summer is here and many of you are heading out on a hike. But summer is also the period of heat waves… and therefore, the period of storms. Which walker has never been surprised by a threatening cloud?

We advise you this article to help you adopt the good practices in case of thunderstorms during your hike.

Preventing the risks of thunderstorms

The first thing is, of course, to check the local weather forecasts before heading out. Be careful, check the weather a week before your hike will be useless… In medium mountain, you must inquire about the weather and the risk of thunderstorm at least two days before your departure and this until the D-day. Thus, you will follow the evolution of the weather and will be able to postpone if necessary.

Despite these precautions, while hiking, you must remain vigilant concerning the arrival more or less rapid of a storm. A certain number of signs must warn you about the imminent arrival of a storm.

The signs of an imminent storm

The clouds that are the cause of thunderstorms are the cumulus, of small sizes at first. They have a tendency of then growing and gain altitude. They then become darker and turn into cumulonimbus. Taking the shape of an anvil, they can then be wide on several tens of kilometers! The sky darkens and the risk of storm becomes real.

The other signs of an imminent storm are some gusts of wind which can sometimes be violent and, of course, also the rain.

 

 

 

What are the dangers of thunderstorms while hiking?

The most obvious danger during a storm is, of course, the lightning which can be deadly if it strikes. Every year, there are cases of walkers struck by lightning. We must not neglect this danger.

Other dangers, maybe less obvious, exist during violent thunderstorms:

  • The hail can be a source of injury,
  • The fall of branches because of the wind,
  • The rock falls in mountain.

The heavy rains which can come with the thunderstorms can also result in rivers bursting out of their banks and changing harmless streams in absolute deadly torrents! An example, below, in Haute-Loire in June 2017, after a storm, the stream of Bethe (municipality of the Brignon) which has been turned into a several meters wide destructive torrent!

Where find shelter in case of thunderstorms?

There hardly ever an ideal shelter in case of storm. Above all, avoid the summits, the isolated trees, the boulders and water points (lakes, rivers…). Try to reach a barn or the annex of a house nearby to find shelter.

How to protect yourself during a thunderstorm?

First of all, get rid of any metal objects you have, especially your waking poles… leave them somewhere and distance yourself from them!

Stay calm and don’t run. Put on your rain clothing. Then, choose a low, crouch position, arms around your legs and head between the knees. If possible, isolate yourself from the ground with your backpack for example. It’s not the easiest, but then, you just have to wait…

Golden rule: anticipate

Safety is the best weapon against thunderstorms. They often break out in the late afternoon so leave early! If you see that the weather is taking a turn for the worse, anticipate to find shelter before the thunderstorm breaks out and speed up.

But most of all, do not hesitate to postpone your hike if the weather isn’t favorable…

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr

Orages en randonnée, que faire ?

L’été est bien là et vous êtes nombreux à partir en rando sur les chemins. Mais l’été est aussi la période des fortes chaleurs… et donc des orages. Quel randonneur ne s’est jamais trouvé surpris en dessous d’un nuage menaçant ?

Nous vous proposons cet article pour vous aider à adopter les bonnes pratiques en cas d’orage en randonnées.

La prévention des risques d’orages

La première des choses est bien sûr de consulter les prévisions météo locales avant de partir. Attention, regarder la météo une semaine avant votre départ ne vous servira pas à grand-chose…En moyenne montagne, vous devez vous informer du temps qu’il va faire et des risques d’orages à partir de J-2 avant votre départ et ce jusqu’au jour J. Vous en suivrez ainsi les évolutions et pourrez reporter si nécessaire.

Malgré ces précautions, vous devez être vigilent, en randonnée, à l’arrivée plus ou moins rapide d’un orage. Un certains nombre de signes doivent vous alerter sur l’arrivée imminente d’un orage.

Les signes d’un orage imminent

Les nuages qui sont à l’origine des orages sont les cumulus, de petites tailles au départ. Ils ont tendance ensuite à grossir et à s’élever en altitude. Ils prennent alors une couleur beaucoup plus foncée et se transforment en cumulonimbus. Prenant la forme d’une enclume, ils peuvent alors être larges de plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres ! Le ciel s’assombrit et le risque d’orage devient réel.

Les autres signes d’un orage imminent sont aussi des bourrasques de vent qui peuvent être parfois violentes et aussi, bien sûr, la pluie.

Quels sont les dangers des orages en randonnée ?

Le danger le plus évident lors d’un orage est bien sûr la foudre qui peut être mortelle si elle vous frappe. Chaque année, des cas de randonneurs touchés par la foudre sont recensés. Il ne faut pas négliger ce danger.

D’autres dangers, peut-être moins évident, existent lors d’orages violent :

  • la grêle peut être source de blessures,
  • les chutes de branches en raison du vent,
  • les chutes de pierres en montagne.

Les fortes pluies qui peuvent accompagner les orages peuvent également faire sortir des rivières de leur lit et transformer des ruisseaux inoffensifs en véritables torrents mortels ! Un exemple ci-dessous en Haute-Loire en juin 2017, à la suite d’un orage, le ruisseau du Bethe (commune du Brignon) qui a été transformé en un torrent ravageur de plusieurs mètres de large !

 

Où s’abriter en cas d’orages ?

Il y a rarement un abri idéal en cas d’orage.  Il faut surtout éviter les points culminants, les arbres isolés, les blocs rocheux et les points d’eau (lac, rivières…). Tentez de rejoindre une grange ou la dépendance d’une habitation à proximité qui pourront faire office de refuge.

Comment se protéger pendant l’orage ?

Tout d’abord se débarrasser de tous vos objets métalliques notamment bâtons de marche… laissez-les à un endroit et éloignez-vous !

Restez calme et ne courrez pas. Enfilez vos vêtements de pluie. Préférez ensuite une position basse, accroupis, les bras autour des jambes et tête rentrée entre les genoux. Si possible, isolez-vous du sol avec votre sac à dos par exemple. Ce n’est pas le plus facile, mais il n’y a ensuite plus qu’à patienter…

Règle d’or : anticiper

La prévention est la meilleure arme contre les orages. Ils éclatent souvent en fin d’après-midi alors partez tôt ! Si vous voyez que le temps se gâte, anticiper pour trouver un abri avant l’orage et accélérez le pas.

Mais surtout, n’hésitez pas à repousser votre rando si la météo n’est pas favorable…

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr