One-day walks in the massif of Mézenc

Rambles in Haute-Loire… in the heart of the massif of Mézenc and the wild Loire (massif du Mézenc et de la Loire Sauvage)

Towering in the middle of a set of high lands and of its main valley, the massif of Mézenc dominates by this 1753 meters in height. And it’s in this massif of Mézenc et Loire Sauvage that you’ll be able to see, from June a diversified flora (violets, gentians, blueberries…) within a preserved territory, and, for the luckiest, the surprising and protected fauna (otter, Eurasian eagle owl…) of the young Loire.pays mezenc_300_mini

Not-to-be-missed circuits in the area

  • Le Tour du Mont Mézenc (medium, 12.7 km, around 3h30): around the Mount Mézenc, discover the spectacular landscapes that surround this itinerary, with the ascent to the summit which will offer some beautiful views.
  • La Vallée de l’Aubépin (very easy, 2.3 km, around 40 minutes): near Moudeyres, leave for a stroll to discover the waterfall of Souteyros, the farm of the Perrel brothers (ferme des frères Perrel) or even the high valley of L’Aubépin.
  • Le camp d’Antoune (medium, 13.1 km, around 3h10): go around the antique fortified camp of Antoune and discover the Loire which weaves in the bottom of the valley.
  • Circuit des Chaumières (hard, 15.7 km, around 4h): discover the rural life from the high plateau of the Mézenc and visit the ecomuseum thatched cottage of Bigorre.

To go hiking appropriately equipped, carry the guidebook of the territory in question is an undeniable must. Consequently, the guide book FFRandonnée Le Massif du Mézenc et de la Loire Sauvage will turn out to be the essential tool and will allow you to discover the territory through 28 rambles and strolls, for a day or just an afternoon, accessible by everybody thanks to the different levels of difficulty.

To learn more about it, you can go the page specifically dedicated to the guidebook FFRandonnée Le Massif du Mézenc et de la Loire sauvage or get in touch with our team!

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr

Randos à la journée dans le massif du Mézenc

Randonnées en Haute-Loire… au cœur du massif du Mézenc et de la Loire sauvage

Dressé au milieu d’un ensemble de hautes terres et de sa vallée principale, le massif du Mézenc domine par ses 1753 mètres d’altitude. Et c’est dans ce massif du Mézenc et de la Loire sauvage que vous pourrez apercevoir, dès juin une flore diversifiée (violettes, gentianes, myrtilles…) au sein d’un territoire préservé, et, pour les plus chanceux la faune surprenante (loutre, grand-duc d’Europays mezenc_300_minipe…) et protégée des gorges de la jeune Loire.

Quelques circuits à ne pas manquer dans le secteur :

  • Le Tour du Mont Mézenc (moyen 12.7 km, env. 3h30) : autour du Mont Mézenc, découvrez les paysages grandioses qui entoure cet itinéraire, avec l’ascension au sommet qui vous offrira de beaux points de vues.
  • La vallée de l’Aubépin (très facile 2.3 km, env. 40 min) : à proximité de Moudeyres, partez en balade pour découvrir la cascade de Souteyros, la ferme des frères Perrel ou encore la haute vallée de l’Aubépin.
  • Le camp d’Antoune (moyen 13.1 km, env. 3h10) : faites le tour de l’antique camp fortifié d’Antoune et découvrez la Loire qui serpente en fond de vallée.
  • Circuit des chaumières (difficile 15.7 km, env. 4h) : découvrez la vie rurale des hauts plateaux du Mézenc et visitez la chaumière écomusée de Bigorre.

Pour partir en randonnée convenablement équipé, se munir du Topoguide du territoire en question est un plus non négligeable. De ce fait, le Topoguide FFRandonnée Le Massif du Mézenc et de la Loire sauvage se révèlera être l’outil indispensable et vous permettra de découvrir le territoire au travers de 28 promenades et randonnées, à la journée ou demi-journée, accessibles à tous grâce aux différents niveaux de difficulté.

Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous sur la page spécifiquement dédiée au Topoguide FFRandonnée Le Massif du Mézenc et de la Loire sauvage ou contactez notre équipe!

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr