The way of Santiago de Compostela, from 1 to 12 days of hike

Towards Santiago de Compostela, some hiking holiday

Take advantage of your vacation to travel along the GR 65 Way of Saint James, in one or several days.  About 10 days are necessary to go from Le Puy-en-Velay (Haute-Loire) to Conques (Aveyron) and discover the charm of one of the most beautiful villages of France. Whether you are a beginner or a trained walker, you’ll be able to walk on the steps of a millennium pilgrimage itinerary.

Walk with an easy mind

TopoGuide GR 65 chemin de Compostelle le puy figeacTo prepare and follow your stop-overs on the GR 65 Way of Santiago de Compostela, the guidebook FFRandonnée is the most reliable tool. The maps and the descriptions of this TopoGuide are made by hiking professionals, who know the field and its difficulties. And it’s also the most complete because it is the only one that gathers all the useful information:

  • A prelude to discover the town of Le Puy-en-Velay,
  • The IGN maps with the route of the GR 65,
  • A description detailed step by step,
  • The accommodation along the GR 65 with their contact details,
  • Some explanatory sheets to educate yourself while walking,
  • The included services and useful addresses.

Long story short, this guidebook cannot be overlooked by the walkers… And it only weights 187 grams!

The first step towards Compostela…

For the walkers of all levels, who want to do the first stop-over departing from Le Puy-en-Velay, many possibilities:

  • From Le Puy-en-Velay to Saint-Christophe-sur-Dolaizon: 8.5 km, about 2h30 of hike (for everybody).
  • From Le Puy-en-Velay to Saint-Bonnet: 17 km, about 4h of hike (medium walker).
  • From Le Puy-en-Velay to Saint-Privat-d’Allier: 24 km, about 6h of hike (good walker).

For more information about the shuttle, see with the Tourist Office of Le Puy-en-Velay.

… For 2 stop-overs and more!

For the walkers who want to pursue the adventure, the second stop-over will make you cross the gorges of Allier, wild and steep-sided. You will then climb on the granitic plateaus of Margeride to reach Saugues, land of the Beast of the Gévaudan.

Will then come the Domaine du Sauvage and its millenary hospitality house, to reach the deserted plateaus of Aubrac. And finally, you will lose altitude near Conques (in 10 days) or even Figeac, in the valley of Lot (12 days). No matter where you will stop your adventure, the teams of la Malle Postale will accompany your trip back to Le Puy-en-Velay.

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr

Le chemin de Compostelle, de 1 à 12 jours de rando

Vers Compostelle, des vacances rando

Profitez de vos vacances pour parcourir en 1 ou plusieurs jour(s), le GR 65 Chemin de Saint Jacques de Compostelle à partir du Puy-en-Velay. 10 jours de randonnée sont nécessaires pour aller du Puy-en-Velay (Haute-Loire) jusqu’à Conques (Aveyron) et découvrir le charme d’un des plus beaux villages de France. Que vous soyez un randonneur débutant ou aguerri, vous pourrez marcher sur les pas d’un itinéraire de pèlerinage millénaire.

Marcher l’esprit tranquilleTopoGuide GR 65 chemin de Compostelle le puy figeac

Pour préparez et suivre vos étapes sur le GR 65 chemin de Saint Jacques de Compostelle, le TopoGuide FFRandonnée est l’outil le plus fiable. Les cartographies et descriptifs de ce TopoGuide sont réalisés par des professionnels de la randonnée, qui connaissent le terrain et ses difficultés. Et c’est aussi le plus complet car il est le seul à regrouper toutes les informations pratiques :

  • un prélude pour découvrir la ville du Puy-en-Velay
  • les cartes IGN avec le tracé du GR 65,
  • un descriptif détaillé pas à pas,
  • les hébergements le long du GR 65 avec leurs coordonnées,
  • des fiches thématiques pour se cultiver tout en marchant,
  • les services associés et adresses utiles.

Bref, ce TopoGuide est incontournable pour les randonneurs… Et il ne pèse que 187 grammes !

La première étape vers Compostelle…

Pour les marcheurs de tous niveaux, désirant faire la première étape au départ du Puy-en-Velay, plusieurs possibilités  :

  • Du Puy-en-Velay à Saint-Christophe-sur-Dolaizon : 8.5 km, environ 2h30 de randonnée (tout public).
  • Du Puy-en-Velay à Montbonnet : 17 km environ 4h de randonnée (marcheur moyen).
  • Du Puy-en-Velay à Saint-Privat-d’Allier : 24 km environ 6h de marche (bon marcheur).

Pour plus de renseignements sur les navettes de retour, contactez l’Office de Tourisme du Puy-en-Velay.

… pour 2 étapes et plus !

Pour les marcheurs qui veulent poursuivre l’aventure, la seconde étape vous fera franchir les gorges de l’Allier, sauvages et encaissées. Vous grimperez ensuite sur les plateaux granitiques de la Margeride pour atteindre Saugues, pays de la Bête du Gévaudan.

Viendront ensuite le Domaine du Sauvage et son accueil hospitalier millénaire, pour parvenir jusqu’aux plateaux désertiques de l’Aubrac. Puis enfin, vous descendrez en altitude vers Conques (en 10 jours) ou même Figeac dans la vallée du Lot (12 jours). Qu’importe l’endroit où vous arrêterez votre aventure, les équipes de la Malle Postale vous accompagneront pour votre retour jusqu’au Puy-en-Velay.

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr