The land of Craponne: new edition

The guidebook of Craponne

Released in April 2017, the Topoguide of the Pays de Craponne includes 16 tracks of walks to roam for a day or half a day. For each walk of the guidebook, you will then have:

  • detailed IGN maps,
  • description step by step of the walk,
  • useful iformation (mileage, difference in height, parking lot, etc.),
  • points of interest about the tracks,
  • thematics sheets (about the fauna, flora or the region’s heritage).

Of a size of 13.5 x 21 cm, the guidebook has the perfect format to discover a territory as a whole.

> To get the guidebook of the Pays de Craponne, go to our online shop, in the section “randonnée à la journée”.

Nature and breath of air

The Land of Craponne  is situated in the North of Haute-Loire, at the heart of a vaste granitic plateau, and in the South of the Livradois-Forez Regional Natural Park. The altitude varies between 700 and 1000 meters. Thus, the climate is characteristic of the medium mountain and offers to the residents a breath of fraish air during the periods heatwaves. The protected nature and the fresh air are a delight for everyone. The water is also a major element of the local heritage with 65 kilometers of streams and rivers which travel across the land of Craponne.

Numerous rivers

The Arzon and Ance are two of the most important waterways and carve the edges of the plateau into deep valleys. In the first place, between Chomelix and Vorey, the Arzon weaves at the bottom of the wild gorges. It is then the meeting point for all the trouts’ fishermen and lovers of sports hikes. Then the Ance is, on the other hand, really appreciated by the fly fishers, particurlarly in the South of Saint-Julien-d’Ance.

Via Bolena and Caesar’s way

Many ancient ways cross the country. Among them, the Via Bolena, pre-celtic way joining the Forez to the Languedoc while crossing cities and little villages; and hte way of Caesar, strategic roman way linking Lyon to Toulouse, which, it, avoid thoroughly those little villages. Hence, the impressive star of pre-celtic itineraries spreading around Craponne attests to the antiquity of the occupation of the place.

Pictures gallery

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr

Le pays de Craponne : nouvelle édition

Le TopoGuide de Craponne

Sortie en avril 2017, le TopoGuide du pays de Craponne comporte 16 circuits de randonnées à parcourir à la journée ou demi-journée. Pour chaque balade du topoguide vous aurez donc :

  • cartes IGN détaillées,
  • descriptifs pas à pas des randonnée,
  • infos pratiques (kilométrage, dénivelé, parking, etc.),
  • points d’intérêts sur les circuits,
  • textes thématiques (sur la faune, la flore ou la patrimoine de la région).

D’un format de 13.5 x 21 cm, le TopoGuide est le format idéal pour découvrir un territoire dans son ensemble.

> Pour se procurer le TopoGuide du pays de Craponne, rendez-vous sur notre boutique en ligne à la rubrique randonnée à la journée.

Nature et bouffée d’air frais

Le pays de Craponne est situé au nord de la Haute-Loire, au coeur d’un vaste plateau granitique, et au sud du Parc naturel régional du Livradois-Forez. L’altitude varie de 700 à 1 000 mètres. Ainsi, le climat est caractéristique de la moyenne montagne et offre aux résidents une bouffée d’air frais durant les périodes de canicule. La nature préservée et l’air pur sont un régal pour tous. L’eau est également un élément majeur du patrimoine local avec 65 kilomètres de ruisseaux et rivières qui parcourent le pays de Craponne.

De nombreuses rivières

L’Arzon et l’Ance sont les deux cours d’eau les plus importants et sculptent les bords du plateau en vallées profondes. En premier lieu, entre Chomelix et Vorey, l’Arzon serpente au fond de gorges sauvages. C’est donc le rendez-vous des pêcheurs de truites et des amateurs de promenades un peu sportives. Ensuite, l’Ance est, quant à elle, très prisée par les pêcheurs à la mouche, particulièrement au sud de Saint-Julien-d’Ance.

Voie de Bolène et chemin de César

De nombreuses voies anciennes traversent le pays. Parmi elles, la Bolène, voie pré-celtique reliant le Forez au Languedoc en traversant villes et villages, et le chemin de César, voie romaine stratégique reliant Lyon à Toulouse, qui, elle, les évite soigneusement. L’impressionnante étoile d’itinéraires pré-celtiques rayonnant autour de Craponne atteste donc de l’ancienneté de l’occupation du lieu.

Galerie photos

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr