The stages of the GR 65 Saint James Way, from Le Puy-en-Velay to Conques

The first stages of the GR 65, towards Santiago de Compostela leaving from Le Puy-en-Velay, will make you go through unforgettable landscapes: the Velay and its volcanoes, the wild gorges of Allier, the plateaus of Margeride and Aubrac, the valley of Lot… Below, an example of stages to link up Le Puy-en-Velay to Conques:

1st stage from Le Puy-en-Velay to Saint-Privat-d’Allier

le puy-en-velay-GR65-chemin de compostelle

Le Puy-en-Velay

Distance 23.5 km, 6 hours of walk.

From the steps of the cathedral of Le Puy-en-velay, to the charming village of Saint-Privat-d’Allier, don’t forget to turn around to admire the view on the Marian city. Arriving in Saint-Privat-d’Allier, you will overlook the impressive gorges of Allier and its river, still wild.

2nd stage from Saint-Privat-d’Allier to Saugues

Distance 19 km, 5h30 of walk.

Passing by the chapel of Rochegude and its promotory, enjoy the stunning view on the gorges of Allier. You will cross this river, which is still wild, in Monistrol-d’Allier before going back on the other bank and reach Saugues, at the doors of the Margeride. It’s a difficult stage with a strong uphill slope (425 m of ascents in about 5 km).

3rd stage from Saugues to the Domaine du Sauvage

Distance 19.5 km, 4h50 of walk.
gorges de l'allier GR 65 chemin de compostelle

At the heart of the gorges of Allier

A gently stage, after the gorges of Allier, which will lead you to the land of the Beast of Gévaudan and in Margeride. We advise you to do this stage by passing by the Domaine du Sauvage, place history-filled and gathering today a group of farmers and producers… A good way to combine hiking and gastronomy.

4th stage from the Domaine du Sauvage to Aumont-Aubrac

Distance 26.5 km, 6h45 of walking

By this stage, you will go from the territories of Margeride to the huge plateaus of Aubrac, region known for its livestock farming and its flora, remarkable during spring. Between Lozère, Cantal and Aveyron, you will be charmed by these green deserted landscapes.

5th stage from Aumont-Aubrac to Nasbinals  

Distance 24.5 km, 6h15 of walk.

At the heart of Aubrac, you will reach Nasbinals and its church from the 14th century. Here, numerous hiking trails, endless grazing which have often maintain their stone rim, which – back then – allowed the rotation of the pasturelands.

GR 65 chemin de saint jacques chanaleilles buron du Sauvage-mini

The “buron” of the Sauvage

6th stage from Nasbinals to Saint-Chely-d’Aubrac

Distance 17 km, 4h15 of walk.

During this stage, you will go by the Aubracn formerly described as “”a place of horror and vast solitude”, and where the winter is among the most rigorous with its 1300 m of height. But if walk here during the nice season (it’s what we advise you to do…) some landscapes of an unbelievable beauty will present themselves to you.

7th stage from Saint-Chely to Espalion

Distance 25.5 km, 6h30 of walk.

In the land of Olt, at the foot of the plateaus of Aubrac, you will walk along the river Lot which possesses remarkable gorges and meanders. Here, a soft climate awaits for you, as evidence, the vineyard plantations. Saint-Côme-d’Olt and its medieval village center is listed among the most beautiful villages of France.

8th stage from Espalion to Golinhac

conques-GR65-chemin-compostelle

Conques, medieval village

Distance 27 km, 6h45 of walk.

It’s a long stage that is waiting for you, with views on the Lot and the crossing of the village of Estaing, remarkable by its Saint Fleuret church and its castle (15th – 17th century) and its statue of Saint François which takes center stage on the old bridge of Estaing.

9th stage from Golinhac to Conques

Distance 26km, 6h30 of walk.

A weighty stage but with a spectacular arrival! Conques, of which the abbey-church and the pilgrims’ bridge are listed UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1998. The abbey of Sainte-Foy-de-Conques possesses the richest treasure of Middle-Age currently retained, with, notably, a golden reliquary statue from the 9th century…

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

Les étapes du chemin de Saint Jacques de Compostelle GR 65 du Puy-en-Velay à Conques

Le chemin de Compostelle du Puy-en-Velay à Conques

Les premières étapes du vers Saint Jacques de Compostelle au départ du Puy-en-Velay GR 65 , vous feront traverser des paysages inoubliables : le Velay et ses volcans, les gorges sauvages de l’Allier, les plateaux de la Margeride et de l’Aubrac, la vallée du Lot… Ci-dessous, un exemple des étapes pour relier le Puy à Conques :

1ere étape du Puy-en-Velay à Saint-Privat-d’Allier

le puy-en-velay-GR65-chemin de compostelle

Le Puy-en-Velay

Longueur 23.5 km, 6 heures de marche.

Des marches de la cathédrale du Puy jusqu’au village pittoresque de Saint-Privat-d’Allier, n’oubliez pas de vous retourner pour admirer la vue sur la cité mariale. Arrivé à Saint Privat d’Allier, vous surplomberez les impressionnantes gorges de l’Allier et sa rivière encore sauvage.

2e étape de Saint Privat d’Allier à Saugues

Longueur 19 km, 5h30 de marche.

En passant par la chapelle de Rochegude et son promontoire, profitez d’une vue imprenable sur les gorges de l’Allier. Vous franchirez cette rivière encore sauvage à Monistrol-d’Allier avant de remonter sur l’autre rive et d’atteindre Saugues, aux portes
de la Margeride. C’est une étape difficile avec une forte montée après Monistrol-d’Allier (425 m de dénivelé positif en environ 5 km).

3e étape de Saugues au Domaine du Sauvage

Longueur 19.5 km, 4h50 de marche.
gorges de l'allier GR 65 chemin de compostelle

Au coeur des gorges de l’Allier

Une étape en douceur, après les gorges de l’Allier, qui vous emmènera au pays de la Bête du Gévaudan et en Margeride. Nous vous conseillons cette étape passant par le Domaine du Sauvage, lieu chargé d’histoire et aujourd’hui regroupant un collectif d’agriculteurs et de producteurs… De faire quoi faire conjuguer randonnée et gastronomie.

4e étape du Domaine du Sauvage à Aumont Aubrac

Longueur 26.5 km, 6h45 de marche.

Par cette étape, vous passerez des territoires de Margeride aux immenses plateaux de l’Aubrac, région célèbre pour son élevage et sa flore remarquable au printemps. Entre Lozère, Cantal et Aveyron, vous serez charmé par ses paysages désertiques verdoyants.

5e étape d’Aumont Aubrac à Nasbinals 

Longueur 24.5 km, 6h15 de marche.

Au coeur de l’Aubrac, vous rejoindrez Nasbinals et son église du 14e siècle. Ici de nombreux chemins de randonnées, des pâtures
à pertes de vues qui ont souvent conservé leur ourlet de pierres qui permettaient autrefois d’assurer la rotation des pâturages.

GR 65 chemin de saint jacques chanaleilles buron du Sauvage-mini

Le buron du Sauvage

6e étape de Nasbinals à Saint-Chely-d’Aubrac

Longueur 17 km, 4h15 de marche.

Durant cette étape, vous passerez par Aubrac, autrefois décrit comme « un lieu d’horreur et de vaste solitude », et où l’hiver est parmi les plus rigoureux avec ses 1300 mètres d’altitude. Mais si vous passez par ce lieu à la belle saison (c’est ce que nous conseillons…) des paysages d’une beauté incroyable s’offriront à vous.

7e étape de St-Chely à Espalion 

Longueur 25.5 km, 6h30 de marche.

En pays d’Olt, au pied des plateaux d’Aubrac, vous longerez la rivière du Lot qui possède de remarquables gorges et méandres. Ici, un climat de douceur vous attend avec pour preuves des plantations de vigne. Saint Côme d’Olt et son bourg médiéval est classé parmi les plus beaux villages de France.

8e étape de Espalion à Golinhac 

conques-GR65-chemin-compostelle

Conques, village médiéval

Longueur 27 km 6h45 de marche.

C’est une longue étape qui vous attend avec des vues sur le Lot et la traversée du village d’Estaing, remarquable par son l’église Saint Fleuret et son château (15e – 17e siècle) et sa statue de Saint François qui trône sur le vieux pont d’Estaing.

9e étape de Golinhac à Conques 

Longueur 26 km, 6h30 de marche.

Une étape conséquente mais à l’arrivée au combien grandiose ! Conques dont l’abbatiale et le pont des pèlerins sont inscrits depuis 1998 au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité par l’UNESCO. L’abbaye Sainte-Foy-de-Conques possède le plus riche trésor du Moyen Age conservé aujourd’hui avec notamment une statue reliquaire en or du 9e siècle…

En savoir plus sur le chemin de Compostelle

Chemin de Compostelle du Puy à Figeac (GR 65)

Guide des hébergements du chemin de Compostelle, du Puy à Figeac (GR 65)

Carte interactive du chemin de Compostelle, du Puy à Figeac

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr