GR 7 From the Pilat to the Cévennes

GR® 7 from the Pilat to the Cévennes

On the GR® 7, the mobility will take you from the Vosges to the Pyrennees by mainly following the watershed. You’ll walk between the North Sea – English Channel – Atlantic slope and the Mediterranean slope. From the East of Massif Central, the GR® goes towards the South. From the East it sails on the crests between the boundary of Haute-Loire and Ardèche, to join the Pilat massif to the Cévennes.

From the Ballon d’Alsace to Andorre-la-Vieille by foot

The GR® 7 follows more or less the watershed. Indeed, on your right, the waters join the North Sea, the English Channel or the Atlantic. And on your left, the Mediterranean slope. This mobility, in stages, will lead you from the Ballon d’Alsace to Andorre-la-Vieille. Two months are necessary to travel it.

From the summits of Vosges to the ones of Massif Central

From the Ballon d’Alsace, at 1247 m in height, the GR® 7 will lead you to Andorre-la-Vieille at 1409 m in height. During this trek, your stages will take you at the foot of the Mont Mézenc, then the Mont Lozère (col of Finiels) and then to the Mont Aigoual, on the barrier of the Cévennes, before reaching the Pyrenees.

At the source of the rivers

From the sources of the Saône, join the water tower that constitutes the Massif Central. It will be the source, or rather the sources of Loire in the Mont Gerbier-de-Jonc, then those of Ardèche, then further the Moure de la Gardille, source of Allier and even the Lot, the Tarn and the Hérault. Some of these rivers regularly know the “épisodes cévenols” so feared (strong rains that may lead to floods).

Looking for the itinerary

The TopoGuides® (guide books) of the GR® 7 are not anymore published so you will have to resort to IGN maps or even better, GPX tracks that the FFRandonnée Walking Committees may give to you for the regions crossed. A proposal of digital TopoGuide® is considered for the Massif Central part.

Vos avis !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

Scroll Up

Du Pilat aux Cévennes (GR 7)

GR® 7 du Pilat aux Cévennes

Sur le GR® 7, l’itinérance vous conduira des Vosges aux Pyrénées en suivant, pour l’essentiel, la ligne de partage des eaux. Vous marcherez entre le versant Mer du Nord – Manche – Atlantique et le versant Méditerranée. De l’est du Massif Central, le GR® va en direction du sud. A l’est de la Haute-Loire, il navigue sur les crêtes entre la limite de la Haute-Loire et de l’Ardèche, pour relier le massif du Pilat aux Cévennes.

Du Ballon d’Alsace à Andorre-la-Vieille à pied

Le GR® 7 suit à peu près la ligne de partage des eaux. En effet, sur votre droite, elles rejoignent la Mer du Nord, la Manche ou l’Atlantique et sur votre gauche, le versant Méditerranéen. Cette itinérance vous conduira du Ballon d’Alsace à Andorre-la-Vieille. Deux mois d’itinérance sont nécessaires pour le parcourir.

Des sommets des Vosges à ceux du Massif Central

Du Ballon d’Alsace, à 1247 m d’altitude, le GR® 7 vous amènera à Andorre-la-Vieille à 1409 m d’altitude. Au cours de ce périple, vos étapes vous porteront au pied du Mont Mézenc  puis au Mont Lozère (col de Finiels) et ensuite au Mont Aigoual, sur la barrière des Cévennes, avant de rejoindre les Pyrénées.

A la source des fleuves

Des sources de la Saône, rejoignez le château d’eau que constitue le Massif-Central. Ce sera la source ou plutôt les sources de la Loire au Mont Gerbier-de-Jonc, puis celles de l’Ardèche, plus loin le Moure-de-la Gardille, source de l’Allier et encore le Lot, le Tarn et l’Hérault. Certains de ces fleuves connaissent régulièrement les épisodes cévenols si redoutés.

A la recherche de l’itinéraire

Les TopoGuides® du GR® 7 ne sont plus édités alors vous devrez avoir recours aux cartes IGN ou mieux, aux traces GPX que pourront vous communiquer les comités départementaux FFRandonnée des départements traversés. Un projet de TopoGuide® numérique est envisagé pour la partie Massif-central.

Vos avis !

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr