The land of Les Marches du Velay

Les Marches du Velay à pied, près de Saint-Etienne

Near Saint-Etienne, between Loire and Dunière

Near Saint-Etienne and Lyon, the territory of the Marches du Velay offers walks of all levels in the valley of Loire et of Dunière, but also on plateau offering views on the Sucs* of the Velay and the Mézenc.

The territory of Les Marches du Velay

Situated in Haute-Loire, at the gates of the region Rhônes-Alpes, the territory of the Marches du Velay is only 15 minutes away from Saint-Etienne and about 1h15 away from Lyon, by road. It is also well served by the public transportation as it’s accessible by the train line Lyon – Saint-Etienne – Le Puy-en-Velay.

It’s a territory with a very diversified nature where we can, during a ramble, find relaxation and serenity. The edges of Loire offer a sweet and enjoyable climate whereas the plateaus, of middle altitude, can be cooler and invigorating!

Some paths, with remarkable views, make the walkers discover some plunging views on the Loire, its tributaries and their striking gorges. On the plateaus, some panoramas with huge horizons offer, on the other hand, views on the sucs of the Velay or on the mount Mézenc. The walker then travels on paths with multiple green and wooded landscapes.

Useful information and markings of the hikes

The guidebook of Pays des Marches du Velay is made of 21 walks. The tours are situated in the edge of Loire, in Beauzac or Monistrol-sur-Loire. Some strolls are also proposed in Saint-Sigolène, Saint-Pal-de-Mons in order to discover the gorges of La Dunière.

The rambles present in the guide are planned as well for the beginners as for the harden walkers. Their lengths vary from 45 minutes to 5 hours. They are certified Respirando (local label which guarantees to make pass the walks on public paths, with as less of tarmac as possible, with a follow up and maintenance of the markings…) and marked in yellow by the local council communities.

The walks in the Pays des Marches du Velay can be done all year long (except particular winter conditions).

*Note: a “Suc” is a specific volcanic hill of Massif Central, an area of France.

Cliquez sur les marqueurs pour afficher le détail du circuit

icone difficulté très facileTrès facile
icone difficulté facileFacile
icone difficulté moyenMoyen
icone difficulté difficileDifficile

Vos avis !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr

Les Marches du Velay, entre gorges de la Loire et de la Dunière – 21 circuits

Les Marches du Velay à pied, près de Saint-Etienne

Près de Saint-Etienne, entre Loire et Dunière

Proche de Saint-Etienne et Lyon, le territoire des Marches du Velay propose des balades de tous niveaux dans la vallée de la Loire et de la Dunière mais aussi sur des plateaux proposant des vues sur les Sucs du Velay, et le Mézenc.

Le terroir des Marches du Velay

Situé en Haute-Loire, aux portes de la région Rhônes-Alpes, le territoire des marches du Velay est à 15 min seulement de Saint-Etienne et environ 1h15 de Lyon par la route. Il est également bien desservi par les transports en commun puisque d’accessible par la ligne de train Lyon – Saint-Etienne – Le Puy-en-Velay.

C’est un territoire à la nature très diversifiée où l’on peut, lors d’une randonnée, trouver détente et sérénité. Les bords de Loire offrent un climat doux et agréable tandis que les plateaux, d’altitude moyenne, peuvent se révéler plus frais et vivifiant !

Des sentiers, aux remarquables points de vue, font découvrir aux randonneurs des vues plongeantes sur la Loire, ses affluents, et leurs gorges saisissantes. Sur les plateaux, des panoramas aux vastes horizons offrent quant à eux des vues sur les sucs du Velay ou encore le mont Mézenc. Le marcheur parcourt alors des sentiers aux multiples paysages verdoyants et boisés.

Infos pratiques et balisage des randonnées

Le TopoGuide du pays des Marches du Velay est composé de 21 promenades et randonnées. Les circuits se situent notamment en bord de Loire à Beauzac ou Monistrol-sur-Loire. Des balades sont également proposées à Sainte-Sigolène, Saint-Pal-de-Mons afin de découvrir les gorges de la Dunière.

Les balades présentes dans le guide sont prévues aussi bien pour les marcheurs débutant que pour les randonneurs aguerris. Leurs durées varient de 45 min à 5h. Elles sont labellisées Respirando (chemin public, goudron limité, suivi du balisage et de l’entretien,…) et balisées en jaune par les communautés de communes.

Les randonnées dans le pays des Marches du Velay peuvent se pratiquer toute l’année (sauf condition hivernale particulière).

Cliquez sur les marqueurs pour afficher le détail du circuit

icone difficulté très facileTrès facile
icone difficulté facileFacile
icone difficulté moyenMoyen
icone difficulté difficileDifficile

Vos avis !

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr