Paulhaguet, between Senouire and Doulon

guide-randonnee-paulhaguet-mini

Located in the South of the Livradois-Forez Regional Natural Park and crossed by the rivers Doulon or Senouire, the area of Paulhaguet hides a remarkable natural heritage. The varied landscapes composing it (enclosed gorges, wooded countrysides, deep forests or farming plains) will allow the walkers to enjoy some shady walks, while still offering remarkable views.

21 tours of walks in the Pays de Paulhaguet

This guidebook presents 21 tours of rambles and strolls (PR), as well as 3 discovery tours and 1 circuit (car). The tours have a length set from 1h45 to 6h15 and are marked in yellow. A sign is placed at the beginning of every tour to indicate the start.

The routes are certified Respirando (local label which guarantees to make pass the walks on public paths, with as less of tarmac as possible, with a follow up and maintenance of the markings…) and maintained by the local council communities of Paulhaguet. The panel of tours presented will suit the harden walkers as well as the families wishing easier walks.

The treasures of the Pays de Paulhaguet

Your walks in the territory of Paulhaguet will lead you to some impressive edifices such as the churches of Saint-Gorges-d’Aurac, of La Chomette, Couteuges, Vals-le-Chastel or the isolated church of the Trinity in Montclard. A visit of the imposing castle of Domeyrat, overlooking the river Senouire, is recommended to the lovers of medieval heritage. Some interactive visits of the castle are, by the way, proposed during the summer to discover the daily life in a fortified castle.

In the steps of La Fayette

One can’t walk in the land of Paulhaguet without mentioned its famous Marquis de Lafayette, who decided to embark for the United States of America to stand up for the liberty during the American War of Independence. Lafayette has also made adopt the crucial text of the Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen during the French revolution. In Chavaniac-Lafayette, one can now visit the Lafayette museum-castle where he was born in 1757.

Cliquez sur les marqueurs pour afficher le détail du circuit

icone difficulté très facileTrès facile
icone difficulté facileFacile
icone difficulté moyenMoyen
icone difficulté difficileDifficile

Vos avis !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A télécharger

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

  • Sorry, this entry is only available in French.

Scroll Up

Paulhaguet, sur les pas de Lafayette – 21 circuits

guide-randonnee-paulhaguet-mini

Situé au sud du Parc Naturel Livradois Forez et traversé par le Doulon ou la Senouire, qui prend sa source près de la Chaise-Dieu, le pays de Paulhaguet cache un patrimoine naturel remarquable. Les paysages variés qui le composent, gorges encaissées, bocages, forêts profondes ou encore plaines agricoles, permettront aux randonneurs de profiter de balades ombragées mais offrant des points de vues remarquables.

21 circuits de randonnées au pays de Paulhaguet

Ce guide présente 21 circuits de promenade et randonnée (PR) ainsi que 3 circuits de découverte et 1 circuit auto. Les parcours ont des durées allant de 1h45 à 6h15 et sont balisés en jaune. Un panneau est placé au début de chaque circuit pour indiquer le départ.

Les parcours ont obtenu le label respirando et sont entretenus et balisés par la communauté de communes de Paulhaguet. Le panel des circuits présentés conviendra aux randonneurs aguerris comme aux familles désirant des randonnées plus faciles.

Les trésors du pays de Paulhaguet

Vos randonnées dans le territoire de Paulhaguet vos mèneront à des édifices remarquables comme les églises de Saint-Georges-d’Aurac, de la Chomette, Couteuges, Vals-le-Chastel ou encore l’église isolé de la Trinité à Montclard. Une visite à l’imposant château de Domeyrat, surplombant la Senouire est recommandée aux amateurs de patrimoine médiévaux. Des visites interactives du château sont d’ailleurs proposées durant l’été pour y découvrir la vie quotidienne dans un château fort.

Sur les pas de La Fayette

On ne peut se balader dans le pays de Paulhaguet sans évoquer son célèbre marquis de La Fayette, qui décida d’embarquer pour les Etats-Unis d’Amérique afin d’y défendre la liberté lors de la guerre d’Indépendance. La Fayette a également fait adopter le texte fondamental de la Déclaration des droits de l’homme lors de la Révolution française. A Chavaniac-Lafayette, on peut aujourd’hui visiter le château-musée Lafayette où il naquis en 1757.

Cliquez sur les marqueurs pour afficher le détail du circuit

icone difficulté très facileTrès facile
icone difficulté facileFacile
icone difficulté moyenMoyen
icone difficulté difficileDifficile

Vos avis !

21, rue du Collège
43000 LE PUY-EN-VELAY

04 71 04 15 95 contact@rando-hauteloire.fr